Local Government

The Village of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes became an unincorporated village administered by a council committee, or Townboard, of the RM of Lorne and the RM of South Norfolk in 1934. The council committee would evolve into the council of the non-incorporated village between 1946 and 1962.  On January 1, 1963 the Village of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes became an incorporated entity independent of the RM of Lorne and the RM of South Norfolk.

In December 2012, the Province of Manitoba made an announcement requiring that municipalities with fewer than 1000 population be amalgamated with neighbouring municipalities. As of January 1, 2015, the incorporated Village of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes was amalgamated with RM of Lorne and the Village of Somerset. The Village of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes is now Ward 6 of the Municipality of Lorne and is represented by one councillor and its Local Urban District (LUD) committee members.

The LUD committee meets on the last Monday of each month unless otherwise noted.

  • Denis Bibault, Municipality of Lorne council member
  • Bev Collet, elected committee member
  • Cheryl Vigier, elected committee member
  • Joël Comte, elected committee member
  • Liliane Sorin, Administrative Assistant

The Municipality of Lorne satellite office in Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes is located at 55 Rogers Street within the Centre Dom-Benoît.  

LUD of Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes
P.O. Box 89 - 55 Rogers Street
Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, Manitoba
R0G 1M0 (Canada)

Tel.: (204) 248-7290
Email: villagend@mymts.net

Office Hours
Monday to Friday - 8:30 am to 4:30 pm